Ambitious People-The double-edged sword of reality

ambition-1

How does one treat ambitious? Does it need to be medicated or given therapy? Does it need to be ignored in hopes that it just might go away? Should you feed it? I say yes-to all of the above but in different situations.

Ambitious people can be motivating or frightening and I feel the need to address them from a positive and a negative standpoint. I posted a blurb on my Instagram earlier today that reminded me to write about the ambitiousness of our own kind. Kudos to the author whoever they may be:

“The Cost of Ambition”

  • Late Nights, Early Mornings.
  • Lots of Associates, Very Few Friends.
  • You will be misunderstood.
  • You will be single unless you’re lucky enough to find someone who understands your lifestyle.
  • People will want you to do good but never better than them.

…and for those reasons, you will do many things alone.

I must say I never thought being a writer would be anything to envy because we are all given a pencil and paper around the same age. But when you think about it, there’s something about being a writer that you know is God given. God chose some of the best to write the most known book in the world but I don’t need to take it there again. (If you need a reminder check my very first post) Just an example of what I am ambitious about. I am paying the price of ambitious in most of those ways. I chose to ignore the negative ones because the existence of it is inevitable. Positively ambitious people are good-keep them around, motivate them-even when you do not understand them. Put it into perspective with what you are most ambitious about and use it as a guide to understanding someone else.

Negatively ambitious people are the ones we have to worry most about. They are the “wolves in sheep’s clothing”, the you scratch my back and I’ll stab you in yours, or the I’ll do anything to see the light over the horizon types. As unfortunate as it is, these people exist. Negatively ambitious people are ambitious but they lack the talent to carry all of that ambition, so they must decide how to achieve their desires without it. It hurts for a little while once you’ve been betrayed but it goes away when you realized that there is something inside of you that the pseudo-friend, social climber yearns for.

Flat but ambitious- we need those types around because they push us and test our true strength. Can you remain on the positive side of ambition?

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Ambitious People-The double-edged sword of reality

  1. Good one, and I got a question,Does self esteem tie into ambition can it affect whether your ambition is positive or negative. And can you waste your life due to an uncontrollable ambition for something

    • I think self esteem plays a great deal in ambition. People are constantly trying to tear things down in others because they lack the quality. I don’t think anything that “you” want is a waste of time because it’s what “you” want. Not quitting is the greatest reward to me.

  2. Yes!!! I totally. I just wish more ppl had the positive outlook bc it’s so many talented people out there, but most don’t even realize. They will knock you down to make themself shine bc the lack confidence and dont realize they shine as well.

Leave a comment