How do you see?

“It’s better to light a candle than to curse the darkness”

I never thought anyone knew what it felt like to see through my eyes without glasses/contacts until last night. I showered and went to the couch to read in the dark (e-book of course). I can see things when they are close enough to my face so I didn’t bother putting on my glasses. I read on the couch most nights because I don’t want to wake Frankie. He’s always asleep way sooner than I am the least bit tired.

After I was done reading I shut off my pad and it was completely dark. I could have used my Ipad light to guide me to the bedroom but what can I say, I was sleepy and not thinking at this point. I used my arm to guide me so that I wouldn’t run into the bookshelf. To my surprise, I was rescued from injuring myself due to the absence of light. I couldn’t see Frankie standing in the door and I had no idea he was there. My response was “you could see me” and he replied “of course”. Moral of the story-I have my candle in the darkness. and he has 20/20. I was expecting to run into a wall and release a few unworthy words in my mind because of my less than perfect vision but because it is known how well I cant see as well as my reading routine I was granted a guide.

I must admit I, like many others, walk around in darkness even when the light is on. What I can see for others I cant’ always see for myself. Sometimes we have to have the courage to accept a walking stick. It doesn’t make you an old gimp. It makes you human. Lately I have needed a “walking stick” to get back to writing. I have been avoiding going anywhere near words because of the stress of publishing my first novel. What I noticed was that my vision worsened without writing. Putting letters together to form words is also a candle for me. It’s how I see the world and survive it. What ever it takes to get you through your darkest days do that!

Leave a comment